Skip to content

12 January, 2017 21:52

January 12, 2017

NO EXCUSES!

Today I was reading through G. Campbell Morgan’s book THE PRACTICE OF PRAYER. I was particularly struck by a story he uses to close this very challenging book on prayer.

My prayer is that in reading it you will no longer use the excuse ‘what can I do?’ or ‘do my prayers really make a difference?’.

Here is his story:

“There comes to me the thought of one woman who, to my knowledge, since 1872 in this great babel of London, has been in perpetual pain, and yet in constant prayer. She is today a woman twisted and distorted by suffering, and yet exhaling the calm and strength of the secret of the Most High. In 1872 she was a bedridden girl in the North of London, praying that God would send revival to the church of which she was a member, and yet into which even then she never came. She had read in the little paper called Revival, which subsequently became The Christian, the story of a work being done in Chicago among ragged children by a man called Moody. She had never seen Moody, but putting that little paper under her pillow, she began to pray, “O Lord send this man to our church.” She had no means of reaching him or communicating with him. He had already visited the country in 1867 and in 1872he started again for a short trip with no intention of doing any work. Mr. Lessey, however the pastor of the church of which this girl was a member, met him and asked him to preach for him. He consented, and after the evening service he asked those who would decide for Christ to rise, and hundreds did so. He was surprised, and imagined that his request had been misunderstood. He repeated it once more clearly, and again the response was the same. Meetings were continued throughout the following ten days, and four hundred members were taken into the church. In telling me this story Moody said, “I wanted to know what this meant. I began making inquiries and never rested until I found a bedridden girl praying that God would bring me to that church. HE had heard her and brought me over four thousand miles of land and sea in answer to her request.”

This story is told in the life of D. L. Moody by his son: but now let me continue it. That girl was a member of my church when I was pastor at New Court. She is still a member, still suffering, still confined to her own room. When in1901 I was leaving England for America I went to see her. She said to me, “I want you to reach that birthday book.” I did so and turning to February 5th I saw in the hand writing I knew so well “D. L. Moody, Psalm XC1.” Then Marianne Adlard said to me, “He wrote that for me when he came to see me in 1872, and I prayed for him every day till he went home to God.” Continuing she said, “Now will you write your name on my birthday page, and let me pray for you until either you or I go home.” I shall never forget writing my name in that book. To me the room was full of the Presence. I have often thought of that hour in the rush of busy life, in the place of toil and strain, and even yet by God’s good grace I know that Marianne Adlard is praying for me, and it is for this reason that to her, in sincere love and admiration, I have dedicated this book.

One Comment leave one →
  1. jdelsanto permalink
    January 24, 2017 8:40 pm

    David, do you still travel within the U.S. doing speaking engagements or preaching? You are familiar with a Brother in Christ from Connecticut, Jesse Morrell. I’ve actually watched your Father’s sermons before I heard Jesse speak of you; I am thankful to the Lord for your bold sermons, and your writings, as well as your Father’s.

Leave a Reply

